They Create Worlds
The Whole Video Game Industry Part 3

The Whole Video Game Industry Part 3

August 15, 2020

TCW Podcast Episode 120 - The Whole Video Game Industry Part 3

 

This is our third part looking at the entire video game industry.  We start with looking at the European PC industry, and then transitioning into the Arcade industry.  We look at the arcades from both the United States, and Japanese standpoints.   We then see the creation of the Famicom, and its debut in the west as the Nintendo Entertainment System.  Next episode we will conclude our epic look at the whole industry!

 

Live Recording Part 3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tdAC0_F4I6Y

 

TCW 017 - The British 8-Bit Computer Market: Hardware: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/the-british-8-bit-computer-market-hardware/

TCW 028 - Picking up the Pieces: The US Arcade Industry After the Crash: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/picking-up-the-pieces-the-us-arcade-industry-after-the-crash/

TCW 057 - Foundation of the Japanese Video Arcade Game Industry : http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/foundation-of-the-japanese-video-arcade-game-industry/

TCW 042 - Laser Craze: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/laser-craze/

Scramble: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxaYafoAqFY

Super Cobra: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6FK9jNBURY

Xevious: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P24bjcvnxd8

TCW 073 - Adventuring in the Arcade: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/?s=Adventuring+in+the+Arcade

TCW 035 - EA the Teenage Years: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/ea-the-teenage-years/

TCW 063 - Lawsuits for Nintendo: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/lawsuits-for-nintendo/

TCW 111 - Jumping to It!: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/?s=Jumping+to+it

TCW 011 - The Genesis of JRPGs: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/the-genesis-of-jrpgs/

 

New episodes on the 1st and 15th of every month!

 

TCW Email: feedback@theycreateworlds.com 

Twitter: @tcwpodcast

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/theycreateworlds

Alex's Video Game History Blog: http://videogamehistorian.wordpress.com

Alex's book is available for preorder and should be released through CRC Press in December 2019: http://bit.ly/TCWBOOK1

 

Intro Music: Josh Woodward - Airplane Mode -  Music - "Airplane Mode" by Josh Woodward. Free download:http://joshwoodward.com/song/AirplaneMode 

Outro Music: RolemMusic - Bacterial Love - http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Rolemusic/Pop_Singles_Compilation_2014/01_rolemusic_-_bacterial_love 

 

Copyright: Attribution: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

The Whole Video Game Industry Part 2

The Whole Video Game Industry Part 2

August 1, 2020

TCW Podcast Episode 119 -The Whole Video Game Industry Part 2

 

We continue our look at the entire video game industry!  In the second part we start looking at the industry leading up to the crash!  We continue the story where part 1 left off.  We see the evolution of the industry along the three lines of arcade, home console, and PC.  We see the pervasive influence of Dungeons and Dragons on the industry.  Particularly the PC scene.  A lot of crazy, and a lot of fun!  Check out the companion video is you want to know how the original recording was!

 

Archive Live Stream Recording  on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQ5gDXPUV8g

 

TCW 078 - Invading Taito Part 2: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/invading-taito-part-2/

TCW 057 -Foundation of the Japanese Video Arcade Game Industry : http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/foundation-of-the-japanese-video-arcade-game-industry/

TCW 008 -  Birth of the Japanese Game Center: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/birth-of-the-japanese-game-center/

TCW 029 - 50 Years of Namco: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/50-years-of-namco/

TCW 025 - Mattel Electronics?: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/mattel-electronics/

TCW 085 - Computer Game BASICs: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/?s=Computer+Game+BASICs

TCW 016 - Early Computer Game Platforms: The Trinity, and The Disciples: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/early-computer-game-platforms-the-trinity-and-the-disciples/

D&D Dark Dungeons Comic: http://www.therobotspajamas.com/dd-kills-with-the-help-of-satan/

D&D Dark Dungeons Comic Comparison: http://www.theescapist.com/darkdungeons.htm

Mazes and Monsters: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6HfU0UjcCeE

TCW 101 - Infocom: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/?s=Infocom

 

New episodes on the 1st and 15th of every month!

 

TCW Email: feedback@theycreateworlds.com 

Twitter: @tcwpodcast

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/theycreateworlds

Alex's Video Game History Blog: http://videogamehistorian.wordpress.com

Alex's book is available for preorder and should be released through CRC Press in December 2019: http://bit.ly/TCWBOOK1

 

Intro Music: Josh Woodward - Airplane Mode -  Music - "Airplane Mode" by Josh Woodward. Free download:http://joshwoodward.com/song/AirplaneMode 

Outro Music: RolemMusic - Bacterial Love - http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Rolemusic/Pop_Singles_Compilation_2014/01_rolemusic_-_bacterial_love 

 

Copyright: Attribution: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Play this podcast on Podbean App