They Create Worlds

Revisions and Updates 2

September 1, 2019

TCW Podcast Episode 097 - Revisions and Updates 2

 

The podcast is four years old!  We celebrate by looking back at past episodes, and revising subjects that Alex has found new information on!  There is, of course, more and new information in regards to Atari.  We also do some speculation into the origin of Scramble, some commentary on what has been going on at Blizzard Entertainment, and some new information in relation to the origins of Galaxian.  We make a note of the earliest known commercial ester egg, some new information on the first Japanese original game creation for the arcade, and wrap up with some more book updates.  We look forward to the countdown to episode 100!

 

TCW 43 - Personal Gaming Histories: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/personal-gaming-histories/

Dragon Warrior Commercial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qL5_3EhqK8

Dragon Quest I Android: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AmQqcf0ziSI

Final Fantasy XIV Shadowbringers Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4tyuIh12_HU

TCW 44 Founding, Syzygy to Atari: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/founding-syzygy-to-atari/

TCW 45 Atari, Ventures and Acquisitions: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/atari-ventures-and-acquisitions/

TCW 46 Atari, Ray Kassar and Warner: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/atari-ray-kassar-and-warner/

TCW 47 Vestiges of Atari: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/vestiges-of-atari/

TCW 52 The many Faces of Konami: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/the-many-faces-of-konami/

Astro Fighter Gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMBrGXzB-p8

Astro Fighter Cabinet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-dICpXIj50

Scramble Gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QWIUj4R8-10

Defender Arcade Gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qq_Zvg9KlII

TCW 54 Blizzard Vikings and WarCraft: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/blizzard-vikings-and-warcraft/

TCW 55 Blizzard: Hellfire and The World… Of WarCraft: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/blizzard-hellfire-and-the-world%e2%80%a6-of-warcraft/

TCW 57 Foundation of the Japanese Video Arcade Game Industry: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/foundation-of-the-japanese-video-arcade-game-industry/

Galaxian : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhYVcwhSWjI

Space Invaders Cabinet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJMr36hLY38

Admiral Yamamoto and the Allied Fleets: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BR0WjZGCNYw

TCW 076 A Fairchild Story: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/a-fairchild-story/

Spitfire Gameplay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95guwJJGx8I

Spitfire Easter Egg Video (No Sound): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7fSSbtuYaA

Spitfire Easter Egg Video (Sound): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ws-ExrlbmtY

TCW 77 Invading Taito Part 1: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/invading-taito-part-1/

TCW 78 Invading Taito Part 2: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/invading-taito-part-2/

TCW 92 Citing Apologies: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/citing-apologies/

 

New episodes on the 1st and 15th of every month!

 

TCW Email: feedback@theycreateworlds.com 

Twitter: @tcwpodcast

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/theycreateworlds

Alex's Video Game History Blog: http://videogamehistorian.wordpress.com

Alex's book is available for preorder and should be released through CRC Press in December 2019: http://bit.ly/TCWBOOK1

 

Intro Music: Josh Woodward - Airplane Mode -  Music - "Airplane Mode" by Josh Woodward. Free download:http://joshwoodward.com/song/AirplaneMode 

Outro Music: RolemMusic - Bacterial Love - http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Rolemusic/Pop_Singles_Compilation_2014/01_rolemusic_-_bacterial_love 

 

Copyright: Attribution: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/