They Create Worlds

The Console Market of the 70’s and 80’s Part 2

July 1, 2021

TCW Podcast Episode 141 - The Console Market of the 70's and 80's Part 2

 

In our second part we look at the emergence of the programable consoles.  We see how many companies kept falling into the same trap of FCC regulations, heat issues, and chip shortages.  By the time most of these issues were sorted out, with the notable exception of the Apple II being classified as an "industrial computer", the industry was in the midst of a console transition led by the ColecoVision.  However the video game crash caused it all to be reset, and many promising paths of development were never really explored.  Stay tuned to the end for info on Alex's guest appearances, the topic of our live stream recording this year, and getting stickers!

 

TCW 076 - A Fairchild Story: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/a-fairchild-story/

Media Regulation Crash Course: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6LKl4RKIew

History of Radio and the FCC: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ob_db-kxEQw

Vintage 1963 FCC Film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzPIOfpKkRM

How Radio Works 1937: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEDzmbsvBPw

The Vacuum Tube Radio: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UKCUMghTrc&t=32s

Applying the inverse square law to EM waves: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1yy-zhVM0Y

How to understand the inverse square law in lighting: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xO-J42VM448

Cats and Dogs living together: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SA1SxZoFmOU

Sport Utility Robot: https://futurama.fandom.com/wiki/Sport-Utility_Robot

Atari Archive - RCA, FRED, and the Studio II: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o35y6W9hI-o

Bally Home Computer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QCkUk8ZA6w

TCW 90 - Lion and Bally Manufacturing: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/lion-and-bally-manufacturing/

TCW 091 - Bally: The Road to Fitness: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/bally-the-road-to-fitness/

George Plimpton Commercials: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPUMfUvRAOE

Atari VCS Space Invaders: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opru6qPsPa4

The Visions of Coleco Part 1: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/the-visions-of-coleco-part-1/

The Visions of Coleco Part 2: http://podcast.theycreateworlds.com/e/the-visions-of-coleco-part-2/

Video Game History Hour: https://gamehistory.org/ep-31-spacewar-dual-to-the-death/

Super Mega Crash Bros. Turbo: https://pencilandpaperproductions.podbean.com/e/super-mega-crash-bros-turbo-171-creating-worlds-with-alex-smith/

 

New episodes on the 1st and 15th of every month!

 

TCW Email: feedback@theycreateworlds.com 

Twitter: @tcwpodcast

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/theycreateworlds

Alex's Video Game History Blog: http://videogamehistorian.wordpress.com

Alex's book is available for preorder and should be released through CRC Press in December 2019: http://bit.ly/TCWBOOK1

 

 

Intro Music: Josh Woodward - Airplane Mode -  Music - "Airplane Mode" by Josh Woodward. Free download:http://joshwoodward.com/song/AirplaneMode 

Outro Music: RolemMusic - Bacterial Love - http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Rolemusic/Pop_Singles_Compilation_2014/01_rolemusic_-_bacterial_love 

 

Copyright: Attribution: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App